Lakes  Westmorland


In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described Lakes like this:

Lake District (or The Lakes), comprises portions of Cumberland, Westmorland, and N. Lancashire: the chief lakes are Bassenthwaite, Coniston, Crummock, Ennerdale; Haweswater, Ullswater, Wastwater, and Windermere; the Lake District is the great tourist district of England.

Lakes through time

Lakes is now part of South Lakeland district. Click here for graphs and data of how South Lakeland has changed over two centuries. For statistics about Lakes itself, go to Units and Statistics.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Lakes, in South Lakeland and Westmorland | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 28th May 2024

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time, and maybe some references to other places called "Lakes".