County Kerry  Ireland

Search for places within County Kerry:


In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described County Kerry like this:

Kerry, maritime co., in the SW. of Munster province, Ireland; is bounded N. by the Shannnon, which separates it from co. Clare, E. by cos. Limerick and Cork, S. by co. Cork, and W. by the Atlantic Ocean; greatest length, N. and S., 67 miles; greatest breadth, E. and W., 55 miles; average breadth, 36 miles; coast-line, about 200 miles; area, 1,185,918 (31,882 water), or 5.7 per cent. ...

of the total area of Ireland; pop. 201,039, of whom 96.6 per cent. are Roman Catholics, 2.9 Episcopalians, 0.1 Presbyterians, and 0.2 Methodists. On the Atlantic coast, which is prevailingly bold and rocky, are the bays of Tralee, Dingle, Ballinskelligs, and Kenmare. The principal headlands from N. to S. are Kerry Head, Brandon Head, Slea Head, Bray Head, and Bolus Head. The largest islands are Valentia and the Blasket group. The greater part of the surface is bleak and mountainous, but there is also much romantic scenery. The principal summits are Carrantuohill or Carn Tual (3414 ft.), in the range of Macgillicuddy's Reeks, the loftiest mountains in Ireland; Bautregaum, 2784 ft., and Mangerton, 2751 ft. The lakes are numerous, but mostly of small size; the principal are the celebrated Lakes of Killarney. None of the numerous rivers are of great length. There are several medicinal springs. The ores of iron, lead, and copper are abundant in the S.; slate and flag-stone are quarried in Valentia. The chief crops are potatoes, oats, and turnips. (For agricultural statistics, see Appendix.) The coast fisheries are extensive, and give employment to a large number of men and boys. There is now direct railway communication from Tralee and Killarney to Cork and Limerick. Kerry gives the titles of baron and earl to the Marquis of Lansdowne. The co. comprises 9 bars.- Clanmaurice, Corkaguing, Dunkerron (North and South), Glanarought, Iraghticonnor, Iveragh, Magunihy, and Trughanacmy, 87 pars., and the towns of Tralee, Killarney, Listowel, Cahersiveen, and Dingle. For parliamentary purposes the county is divided into 4 divisions - viz., North Kerry, West Kerry, South Kerry, and East Kerry, 1 member for each division; its representation was increased from 2 to 4 members in 1885.

Vision of Ireland presents long-run change by redistricting historical statistics to modern units. However, none of our modern units covers an area close to that of County Kerry. If you want trends covering a particular location within the county, find it on our historical maps and then select "Tell me more".

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of County Kerry | Map and description for the county, A Vision of Ireland through Time.


Date accessed: 22nd July 2024

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Ireland through Time, and maybe some references to other places called "County Kerry".